Amy's Paradise

This blog may be the ramblings of an Irish Dancer in Australia who writes stories too…

Where have all the Good Girls gone?

on 17/02/2012

Katy Perry writes her songs from real-life experience and ‘Part of Me’ is the new unsubtle break-up single from Teenage Dream: The Complete Confection… she is in the midsts of divorcing from Russell Brand (even though this song supposedly isn’t about Brand as the demo’s been around a while, it just makes it convenient then doesn’t it?). Unfortunately, ‘Part Of Me’ was released so soon that it has become part of the generic stock of pop singles. It’s catchy, but bland. When I first heard it I had to think that it wasn’t one of her other songs with a different title. I downloaded it and listened to it closer, hearing that she was going to write about her life as Mrs. Katy Brand in the her new singles from the new special edition of her latest album and the lyrics are commendable. They are strong, well written lyrics. But the actual music… well there isn’t any really… Just synthesisers, drum beats… nothing much there. It’s just the same through out, no variation throughout the whole song. Sounds like she’s singing over the instrumentals of ‘The One That Got Away’, her last number 1 single.

I think she wanted to release something to get away from the failed marriage fiasco that she didn’t take the time to actually really listen to her single and produce a single that she could have, like she use to with ‘Teenage Dream’ or ‘Last Friday Night (T.G.I.F.)’ or ‘Peacock’. Those songs were the fun loving Katy Perry that we all know and love… I know she’s gone through a lot (or it could be just good PR spin) and she writes about it… that’s great! A great way to get through issues and to make number 1 hits, but it’s better when she takes the time to perfect it to something memorable, whereas this one will be thrown into the old hit pile that was number one at some point.

This is where Lady Gaga takes the cake, she takes her time with her singles and releases those she seems worthy for her fans to hear. She goes in overdrive to perfect a song and music video. These two artists are my top favourite, even though they’re complete opposites, well, they use to be. Lady Gaga was the grungy daring fashion pop star, whereas Katy Perry was the good cotton candy with a bit of sass pop star.

Katy Perry - 'Part Of Me'

But now Katy poses really grungy with the short blonde hair, no smile, with Gaga style apparel, not the cute adorable brightly coloured Perry that I know her for. The same happened with Rihanna. Sort of. I guess she was already trying to change her image with album Good Girl Gone Bad. But that was still had some really fun tracks. I read somewhere that this is the Gaga effect, but it isn’t really. Lady Gaga wasn’t the original. There was Madonna twenty years earlier. Gaga wasn’t grungy originally, she was just a debutant pop star with some fashionable trends, but when you look back at the ‘Just Dance’ video, she isn’t really all that different to all the other pop stars. She didn’t get grungy until she had a fan base where she could explore and show off her far-fetched fashion ideas. It’s all recycled from Madonna’s era. Gaga’s seen as the bad girl of the music world who dares and challenges the world with her fashion choices. All the pop stars follow this grungy take on the music world after an event in their life in which they have to show the world that they’re strong and won’t take anything lying down. Gaga had trouble with weight and was bullied when she was younger (this I can relate to), Rihanna’s event with Brown. Perry’s divorce.

I use to be Rihanna’s number one fan. I use to be Rihanna and Chris Brown’s number one fan until the very sad incident that happened a few years ago. Now… I don’t listen to Chris Brown… At all! He’s tattooed and completely off putting. And I occasionally download Rihanna songs because they’re catchy, but they are too dark… too much sex and drugs involved. Those songs turn me off… I guess because I cannot relate to them.

Rihanna changed after that incident, I guess it would change you after something like that happening to you (I couldn’t imagine, so terrible and sad). So she had to show the world that she was still the strong woman she was and that no one could bring her down, not even Brown. But also she has turned down her image as a good role model (this is going into Miley Cyrus territory, lets not go there shall we?). I know there are dark sides to being famous, but when I idolise someone I want to see them in good light. Sort of like Selena Gomez or Jessica Alba. They’re usually written about in good light in the tabloids or newspapers. But unfortunately most artists want to shake that disney image and show their bad side. I guess it shows the world that they’re not perfect. And it limits them I guess always being good all the time.

Thing is, if I was famous, I’d want to portray that Disney Princess image. What’s wrong being a good role model?

Whereas there are artists who are still the bright and bubbly pop stars that we know and love like Beyonce, P!NK (not quite so bubbly), Adele and Florence and the Machine. Please don’t change!

I am really hoping Katy Perry gets out of the slump of this whole fiasco with Brand because I don’t want to get disappointed with yet another artist whom I am a devoted fan. I’m wishing Katy will become the bright bubbly artist she once was and hopes she does finds happiness with someone special.

Copyright Amy Watson 2012

3 responses to “Where have all the Good Girls gone?

  1. I was examining some of your posts on this internet site and I conceive this web site is really informative! Continue putting up.

  2. Lesia Garden says:

    Sweet site, super pattern , really clean and employ pleasant.

  3. Sonya Massie says:

    I really like Katy Perry because she is bubbly and has a pleasing personality. ..

    Our favorite blog site
    http://www.prettygoddess.com

Leave a Reply

