Amy's Paradise

This blog may be the ramblings of an Irish Dancer in Australia who writes stories too…

His Majesty failed Big Day Out!

on 23/01/2012

Kanye West was the key headliner at The Big Day Out at the Gold Coast Parklands yesterday… well… he was a grave disappointment!

Big Day Out is an awesome music festival that is held at the Gold Coast Parklands (Australia) every year. I’ve only been in attendance twice (2010 & 2012) and must admit it is a BIG day out! Quite exhausting running around from stage to stage when your favourite bands are scheduled at the same time. The timetable was annoying, but I guess I saw everyone that I really wanted to see.

Kanye West pulled in the largest crowd last night, but not for long. He held off from coming out for 45 minutes, I heard (I had left by then to see Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds) after his scheduled start at 8:30PM after Soundgarden. I planned to only see the first half hour of the show between Foster the People and then see Noel Gallagher at a different stage in the Parklands. But as the time ticked on at Kanye’s stage I witnessed the stage people coming on and off eleven times within that half hour playing with cables and sound set up. Apparently it was screwed because of the wet. Some people thought the crew should have had a back-up plan, others thought he was just being Kanye West and the crowd just had to ‘wait’. There were other theories spreading through the crowds. Then the crowd started, several times, chanting “bull****” at the stage, I was one of them. It was getting ridiculous! 5-10 minutes would have been fine, but 45 minutes? Nah! His Majesty was going to be fashionably late apparently!
BDO officials say not to blame Kanye, because it was the weather and technical glitches that ran them behind schedule. There are two sides to every story. He did his whole show and continued after the actual finishing time, which is in Kanye’s favour. Many thought, my friends included, thought it was “fantastic”, “epic” and “incredible”. Others commented that he was a no talent rapper and the sound was far too loud. It was set up like Stereosonic Festival where the crowds are far larger than BDO. I do like Kanye, but still… The event left me sour. Then there were complaints from many local residents because the first day of school was happening the next morning. It was about the vibrations happening at 11PM from the parklands that could be felt kilometres away.

There is always a scandal at BDO. Last time, Dizzee Rascal got a bleeding eye on stage from someone throwing a deodorant can at him. He was pissed off as he jumped into the crowd to get the perpertraitor. People threw things on the stage this time too. Shoes almost took out the guy from Living End as well as someone flinging a bra at him. Gerard Way from My Chemical Romance dodged toilet rolls, but took it all in good fun, drunk idiots in the moment I guess. then Kanye West’s late appearance. There’s always something to talk about on the way home.

I had left just before 9PM to see Noel and noticed that clusters of people were leaving to see what else BDO had to offer in the same time slot around the Parklands. Noel Gallagher had only a very small crowd hovering around the stage, so it was easy to get close up, but 5-10 minutes after I left Kanye, hundreds more people showed up filling the tent. Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds were awesome! People of the crowd were calling him “a legend”, I concurred!

Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds

Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds

The thing was… the whole event was not as impressive as the previous time I went in 2010. The lineup was not magnificent (with a few exceptions) and the tickets were way overpriced! (I guess it was because of Kanye). It did rain! I was drenched, but that didn’t dampen the spirits of the people seeing the other bands!

Compared to last time, I only really wanted to see 4 bands. My Chemical Romance, Kasabian, Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds and Kanye West (also Foster The People and Regurgitator, but they weren’t foremost on my schedule, just time fillers). Only one disappointed me!

At my last Big Day Out I saw many acts including Kasabian, Powderfinger, Dizzee Rascal, Lily Allen and Muse. You couldn’t get a better lineup than that!!!

My Chemical Romance

My Chemical Romance I was eager to see, loving their albums and missed their last Australian tour it was great to see them reel in the fans. Though, standing next to the 6 foot speakers to the right of the stage, like I was, it was difficult to understand a word Gerard Way was singing, even he had difficulty with it as he kept removing his ear plugs and messing with the microphone. So the set up guys got it wrong, understandable when they had 45 minutes to set up while The Living End was on.

Kasabian. Ahh… Need I say more? I saw them in first at BDO 2010 and they have become more amazing since then!

Kasabian

Then I saw Regurgitator, an Australian band that couldn’t be missed, unfortunately, I wanted to catch Foster The People who were timetable at the same time. So I bolted through the rain to their stage. Foster the People was packed to the max and beyond. I couldn’t believe how many people were there to see them. I was lucky to get under the tent as it was bucketing down. They were good, definitely held the crowd till they played their hit ‘Pumped Up Kicks’.

Other Ramblings about Big Day Out:

I had started out the day getting the train from Brisbane to Helensvale and then the Special Shuttle bus to the event. It was overloaded with people. Sadly I saw girls on the bus filling their apple juices with vodka at 9:30 in the morning and skulking it down. WHY? They were going to be out of it before seeing any of the bands! But I guess it’s a social thing to them, they were there to drink and party, not music. I’m not dissing that at all, but if you’re going to pay a lot on a festival ticket, you may as will actually stay sober to hear the music. See what you pay for! That’s what I did. I didn’t drink at all and still enjoyed the day.

Simonet, S.Gold Coast Bulletin. Kanye fails to hold BDO crowd. Jan 23, 2012. http://www.goldcoast.com.au/article/2012/01/23/384445_music.html

Leave a Reply

